Lineage Series: Subclasses

Destined Legends was always separated into the six elements of Dark, Fire, Earth, Light, Water, and Air. The idea was to provide thematic variety but more importantly, to provide deep strategic choices. Each element provides a different play-style. The first series: Destined Legends: Genesis, featured the elements of Fire and Dark. This was chosen to provide players with fast-paced exciting gameplay as they learned the game. 

This week we're taking a look at our thought process with the six elements of the game and delve deep into their manifestation in Destined Legends: Lineage


In developing the six elements for Lineage, we challenged ourselves to take a closer look at deck building. We asked ourselves why a player might want to incorporate a different element into a deck. The Sideboards in Series 1 began to explore this question and we knew we could take it to the next level.

In Lineage we are introducing the concept of subclasses. This isn't a foreign notion to anyone who has played a recent RPG but incase anyone hasn't, a subclass is a strategic focus, defined by a theme or set of tactics.

Each element is broken into two subclasses, a primary and a special. The primary will be the main method of dealing damage. They will be ideal suited for single target engagement, and will provide reliable outcomes for the sake of progression (especially though early levels). Each primary subclass remains unique and will still play to the element's strengths and strategy. The special subclass is the core of that element's strategy. It is what makes that element unique and formidable against its enemies. This is where the elements diverge the greatest in terms of variety of abilities and strategic impact. 

Here is a breakdown of each element's subclasses:


Offensive Focused

Dark and Fire are designed to be heavy on the offensive and damage over time, with little reliance on defense. The theory is that with a strong and relentless offensive, little defense is needed. 


Defense Focused

Earth and Light both have the ability to perform strong amounts of damage when needed, but shine when it comes to focusing on a good defense to outlast your opponent. They can prevent damage taken or disable the enemy, preventing them from attacking in the first place.


Control Focused

Water and Air are focused on attaining victory through gaining control of the conditions of battle. These elements are good at both offense and defense, but can dictate the circumstances of a given situation to ensure they come out on top.


There really isn't anything new here in terms of game progression. This system has always been in place, but now players will be able to see their options in a much more tangible and conscious way. The game has always been designed for progression through level 5 (best done with primary subclass) and confrontation of the enemy after 5 (best with special subclass). Your strategy may differ, and that's where the system shines. 

The consideration for subclasses came off the heels of the bigger question was that if we release 6 element and 6 sideboards, could you use one elements sideboard with itself, and why would you want to? Would there be any strategic advantage or noticeable play-style shift if you replaced a number of your cards from your fire deck with cards in the fire sideboard, for example?

We believe the answer should be "yes". 

A standard deck (now 64 cards) will contain 2/3 primary subclass weapons and 1/3 special subclass (again, like they already really do). The flexibility comes with the sideboard. Each element will have a 21-card sideboard filled with 1/3 decks with of more special subclass cards. These special subclass cards would focus its own element more heavily towards the core strategy, or provide a significant strategy shift to another element.

on the cards

Below is what this will look like in the game. Here we have two level 4 Water weapons, Harpoon and Moon Staff. Harpoon falls under Water's primary subclass "Lancer". Moon Staff falls under "Sorcerer". As you can see, lancer is more focused on direct attacks, best for defeating creatures quickly. Yet the weapon still maintains traits that are very characteristic to Water, like causing the LIFT status effect and removing a Creature's from battle, giving you control of the flow of battle. Moon Staff is still great for damage but includes the best examples of controlling the flow of battle through card manipulation (Water's speciality). Moon Staff is also a great sampling of Water's ability to spread damage across multiple enemies. 

The beauty of the game is that you can really do whatever you want. A player wouldn't add Light cards to a Dark deck because you need to do more damage. They would most likely add Light cards because of Light's defensive properties. Either way, we wanted to give the player the ability to see their options more clearly. You can build a deck full of primary subclasses (Lancer, Ranger, and Knight) for example, and you would probably do very well. The point is that you can reach out and touch your decisions. You become conscious of what you're building and gain greater control over your deck. 

We're really excited for what this refinement will bring to Destined Legends. Check back in with us next week was we talk more about ability types and some new stuff with Status Effects.

Keep it Legendary.

- Ali


Ali Showkati

I am Ali Showkati.